Rugby Clubs in Auckland


If you’re someone who is looking to tackle across the rugby playing field at one of Auckland’s oldest and largest Rugby clubs. You are in the right place, as we have an impressive list of Auckland’s top Rugby clubs. 

So have a read, and see which Rugby Club is the one for you!

Carlton Juniors Rugby Club

Location: 2 Puriri Drive, Epsom, Auckland, NZ



Telephone: 021 651 777

Carlton Junior Rugby Club is based at Puriri Drive, Epsom. They welcome all children, girls and boys interested in learning & playing the exciting game of rugby and offer teams from under 6s –  under 13s .

College Rifles Rugby Club

Location: 33 Haast Street, Remuera, Auckland, NZ



Telephone: +64 9 520 3201

College Rifles Rugby Club is a rugby union club based in Auckland, New Zealand. The club was established in 1897 by members of the Volunteer Corps, and today accepts male and female players at senior and junior levels. 

East Tamaki Rugby Club

Location: East Tamaki Domain, East Tamaki, Auckland, NZ



Telephone: 021 140 1567

East Tamaki Rugby Club has junior and senior teams, with age grades ranging from Under-6 to Over-60. The club has produced a number of players who have gone on to play international rugby which include Eric Rush and Pita Alatini.

Eden Rugby Football Club

Location: Gribblehirst Park, 225 Sandringham Road, Sandringham, Auckland



Telephone: 09 846 2107

Eden Rugby Club was formed in 1922, and in 1930 moved to Gribblehirst Park, where the club has been based since. Eden are the closest club in Auckland to Eden Park, with the club having attempted to build their clubrooms at the ground in the 1920s. 

Eden fields a range of teams at senior and junior level, and also operates a Men’s and Women’s touch rugby competition during the summer months.

Grammar Juniors Rugby Club

Location: Shore Road Reserve, 32B Shore Road, Remuera, Auckland



Telephone: 027 245 3096

Grammar Juniors Rugby Football Club organises rugby for children from preschool up to Under 13 grade. All teams are weight restricted which means children play against others of a similar weight. Children aged Under 7 begin by playing non tackle Rippa Rugby. Tackle rugby commences from the Under 8 grade.

Marist Eastern Rugby Club

Location: Barry Curtis Park, Flat Bush, East Auckland



Marist Eastern Rugby Club was founded in 2008 the formation of Marist Eastern Rugby stemmed from a need to provide new rugby focused and directed organisation to service the rapidly growing junior rugby population in East Auckland. Marist Eastern has an affiliation with the Auckland Marist Brothers Old Boys Rugby Club.

Manukau Rovers Rugby

Location: 65 Viscount Street, Williams Park, Mangere, South Auckland, New Zealand



Telephone: 0275574374

Manukau Rovers Rugby club was established in 1885 and is affiliated with the Auckland Rugby Football Union. In 1912, the club seceded to rugby league, although after a few years returned to rugby union. Since 1972, the club has been based at Williams Park in Mangere, fielding numerous senior and junior teams, catering to both men and women. 

Manukau has won the Gallaher Shield on two occasions, in 1968 and 1973.

Mt Wellington Rugby Club

Location: Hamlin Park, Wilson Way, Mt Wellington, Auckland


Telephone: 0210538813

Mt Wellington Rugby Club is a rugby union club that’s based in Auckland, New Zealand. At senior level, the club fields four teams – Premier, Reserves, U-21 and U-19 – through a joint venture with Te Papapa Onehunga.

Mount Roskill Junior Rugby

Location: Fearon Park, Akarana Ave, Mt Roskill, Auckland



Telephone: 0274977420

Mount Roskill Junior Rugby club has a history that dates back to 1945. The club now only operates as a junior club, however Mount Roskill RFC was once a thriving, popular and successful premier club. Mount Roskill RFC is affiliated to Suburbs Rugby Football Club, with which it merged in November 2016.

Otahuhu Rugby Football Club

Location: Sturges Park, 8 Awa Street, Otahuhu, South Auckland


Otahuhu Rugby Football Rugbyclub was established in 1926 and is affiliated with the Auckland Rugby Football Union. The club is one of the most successful rugby clubs in Auckland’s history, having won the Gallaher Shield on nine occasions, most recently in 2000. Otahuhu have also produced numerous Auckland and international representatives, including 13 All Blacks.

Pakuranga United Rugby

Location: 78 Bells Road, Pakuranga, Manukau City, Auckland 2010



Telephone: 09 576 7928

Pakuranga United Rugby Club is the largest and quickest growing rugby club in Auckland. Formed in 1965, they are located at Bell Park in Lloyd Elsmore Park in Auckland’s Eastern Suburbs. 

Their home to over 60 Senior, Intermediate, Junior and Nursery teams during the winter. In 2012, Senior Netball was introduced to the club and, in the future, the club will be expanding into Junior Netball as well.

Papatoetoe Rugby Club

Location: Papatoetoe Sports Centre, 295 Great South Road, Papatoetoe, South Auckland



Telephone: +649 277 6710

Papatoetoe Rugby Football Club is affiliated to the Auckland Rugby Union. They have a fantastic number of coaches, managers, referees and club volunteers that help young people get out and play a team sport, improve their fitness and along the way make friends.

Ponsonby Rugby Club

Location: 1 Stadium Drive, Western Springs, Auckland, New Zealand



Telephone: 09 846 9954

Ponsonby Rugby Club was founded in 1874, which makes it the longest standing Rugby Club in the Auckland Union. There are many famous faces and names that have put on the Blue & Black jersey including 48 All Blacks, from Dave Gallaher to Caleb Clarke; 22 Black Ferns, from Tangaloa Edwards to Cristo Tofa; and more than 250 men and 50 women who have represented Auckland A; but there is more to the Club’s success than them alone. 

Suburbs Rugby Football Club

Location: 200 Portage Road, New Lynn, West Auckland



Telephone: 09 828 9387

Te Papa Onehunga Rugby

Location: 5 Olea Road, Onehunga, Auckland



Telephone: 021304 721 (Rugby)

                 021 820 692 (Junior Rugby)

Te Papa Onehunga Rugby Club began in 1947 they have delivered a range of sports to the local community. Officially known as Te Papapa-Onehunga Rugby Football and Sports Club Incorporated, situated over the beautiful Fergusson Park and offer facilities and teams for rugby, squash, netball, touch rugby.

The club is a place where neighbours meet, friends are made, and great games are played.

Waiheke Island Rugby Club

Location: Pavilion, Onetangi Sports Park, O’Brien Road, Ostend, Waiheke Island, Auckland



Telephone: 0274 536 537

Waiheke Island Rugby Club was founded to support both Junior and Senior rugby on Waiheke Island. Over the years the club has grown steadily and has a sound Junior Club membership that is well supported by some key sponsors.

Waitakere City Rugby Club

Location: 65-67 Central Park Drive, Henderson, West Auckland



Telephone: 022039530

Waitemata Rugby Football Club

Location: 96 Swanson Road, Henderson, West Auckland



Telephone: 09 838 7289

Waitemata Rugby Football and Sports Club is a rugby union club based in Waitakere City, Auckland. The club is affiliated with the Auckland Rugby Football Union. Waitemata was founded in 1927 after an amalgamation of the Hobsonville, Waimauku and Swanson clubs. 

The club was based at Smythe Park until 1951, when the club moved to the present day grounds at Waitemata Park in Henderson. Waitemata has won the Gallaher Shield on four occasions, with the most recent success coming in 2003.

Final Words

Rugby has become an international sport that has gained tremendous popularity in several countries across the world. Whether it’s played recreationally or competitively, rugby is a great sport to stay healthy and fit.

Read also: Hockey Clubs in Auckland